News &    Information
Alarm Registration







The Township of Washington consists of approximately 3.5 square miles. It is primarily suburban and residential in nature. A small commercial area is located near the center of town.

The Township is located in north central Bergen County and is bordered by the municipalities of Ridgewood and Ho-Ho-Kus to the west, Paramus to the south, Westwood to the east and Hillsdale to the north.

The residential population is near 10,000. It is served by a 20 man Police Department, augmented by a Class II Special Officer. All emergency services are dispatched from Police headquarters on a 24 hour basis. These emergency Departments include Fire and Ambulance. The communications dispatch center is state of the art. It is comprised of a computerized radio dispatch system and an enhanced 911 system which serves as a Public Safety Answering Point. Typical Police response time for emergency calls is within two minutes. This response time is well under National Standards.

The primary transportation routes in the Township are the Garden State Parkway, Washington Avenue (County road 502), Pascack Road (County road 163), Van Emburgh Avenue (County road 71), Linwood Avenue (County road 110), and Ridgewood Road (County Road 82).


Chief of Police

Glenn Hooper

Police Director

William Cicchetti


Capt. Gregg Hackbarth

Lt. Richard Skinner

Lt. John Calamari

Sgt. Roy Scherer
Sgt. Thomas Lawton
Sgt. Arsenio Pecora
Sgt. Michael Glock

Cpl. Saverio Fasciano

Cpl. Steven Riedel
P.O. William Jackson
P.O. Vincent Montalbano
P.O. Richard Parsells
P.O. Heather Castronova
P.O. Jason Gugger

P.O. Travis Cangialosi

P.O. Vincent Santa

P.O. Chris Osenbruck

P.O. David Ferrazzano

P.O. Michael Ferrarini


Special Officers

S/O David Rosenbaum


Chief Chester Johnson
Chief William Cicchetti

Captain Roger Maher
Lt. Jack Oppelt

Sgt. Bob Tumminelli

Lt. Ken Scherer

Sgt. David Mino

Cpl. Donald Commerford
Ptl. Jamie Powell

Ptl. Drew Krafte

Chief Justin Georgetti
Captain Joseph Sacchi

Lt. David Butler

Sgt. Carl Mittelhammer
Sgt. Ryan Smith

Ptl. Frank Bovino
Ptl. Robert Labianca
Ptl. Christopher Kelley

Sgt. William Curl

Chief Randy Ciocco


Chief William Beppler
Lt. William Lyons
Sgt. Richard Dunn

Ptl. Charles Burns

Lt. John Greiner

Sgt. Edgar Petersen
Detective Joseph Lesko

Ptl. Ronald Loverich

Sgt. Thomas Martin


Employment with the Township of Washington Police Department

If you are interested in career as a Township of Washington Police Officer, please mail or hand deliver a resume to the Township of Washington Police Department at the following address:Township of Washington Police
Attn: Chief Glenn Hooper
350 Hudson Avenue
Township of Washington NJ 07676

At the current time, the Department is fully staffed. Candidates will be notified about upcoming test dates.


[ Home | Administration | Traffic | Patrol | Investigative | Community Policing | Community Watch | DARE | Municipal Alliance ]Legal Disclaimer

2010, Township of Washington Police Department. All rights reserved.