News &    Information
Alarm Registration
















Click here to visit
The Township of Washington's
Web Site




Township of Washington Police Department
350 Hudson Avenue
Township of Washington, NJ 07676
Phone: (201)664-1140
Fax: (201)664-2959

Mission Statement

The Township of Washington Police, in partnership with the governing body, is committed to identify and solve problems that threaten the quality of life within the Township. To this end, the Department is also committed to the efficient suppression of criminal and drug related activity, and to provide a secure environment for our residents. Community oriented policing is a cornerstone of this approach.









The Washington Twp. Police Department was established by ordinance in April 1934. William Beppler was appointed the first full time officer. Chief Beppler served as the Township’s first Police Chief until his retirement in 1973. The Township’s Police Department remained a one man department, augmented by part time special officers, until 1948 when a second full time officer was added. That second officer, Chester Johnson, would become the Township’s second Chief of Police in 1973.

The Township Police force began to grow with the town itself in the 1950’s. Additional full time officers were added in 1954, 1955 and 1957, bringing the full time force to five. Two more officers were added in 1961 bringing the department total to nine officers and the police desk began its 24 hour a day, 365 days a year operation. This service continues to this day. Previously, during evening hours, the phones were answered out of town. Officers were added sporadically at the rate of approximately one officer per year. The force jumped from 12 to 16 in 1969 with the addition of four officers. A full time Detective Division was created in 1970. Since then the force has grown to as many as 25 sworn officers. There are 20 officers presently serving.

The Department has had five Chiefs:
William Beppler - 1934 to 1973
Chester Johnson - 1973 to 1977
Justin Georgetti - 1978 to 1998
William Cicchetti - 1999 to 2010

Randy Ciocco - 2010 to 2014

Glenn Hooper - 2014 - Present

Follow WashTwpPolice on Twitter

For Questions, Comments, or Concerns, please contact us at


[ Home | Administration | Traffic | Patrol | Investigative | Community Policing | Community Watch | DARE | Municipal Alliance ]

Legal Disclaimer

2010, Township of Washington Police Department. All rights reserved.